Our regular series in which we ask Bridges 5.0 people to reveal something about themselves. In this edition, meet:


Describe yourself in three words.

Application oriented researcher.

What is your job title?

Senior Researcher, Member of the SFS Management Board at TU Dortmund University.

How would you summarise what you do for a living?

Industry oriented research by integrating all the relevant stakeholders in an ecosystem and multilevel approach.

What is your role in Bridges 5.0?

Project coordinator for TU Dortmund serving with my industry and European know-how and experience, and networking.

Did you ever think life would take you down this path?

Never, but it is a strange coincidence of life that I am now strongly involved in the European Steel Industry and my father was a steel worker.

Please identify two or three career highlights.

After participation as a student in one of the first digitalisation projects in Germany (1980s Bildschirmtext) my work as social scientist was characterised by working in industry-related research with economists. For sure, it was an outstanding highlight to coordinate the international large scale project SI-DRIVE (Social Innovation: Driving Force of Social Change) with partners from all over the world, pushing Social Innovation in its various extensions and laying the ground for my recent (and) future work.

Not to forget that I met my wife while working in our institute ☺

What would you have been if you career hadn’t led you here?

I was nearly engaged by setting up the national accounts system in Saudi Arabia in the beginning of 1990s. That would have led to a very different career path.

What’s the best thing about your job?

To work with interesting, engaged people all over Europe (and worldwide). That broadens your professional and personal perspective

How do you spend your leisure time?

What is “leisure” time? To be serious: I like to read, play tennis and go jogging

What makes you happy?

Good question. To be alive and enjoy the different facets of live, and a good cup of tea. ☺

Tell me something about yourself that would surprise your colleagues?

I was a lecturer for sociology at a nurse school for one year. And that I intend to retire soon. ☺

Finally, please share personal details that you’re prepared to publish.

I am now 68 years old, formally retired, but still full working. Born in the Ruhr-Area (Essen) in Germany I worked ten years in Cologne at a social-economic research institute, ended up in the Social Research Centre in Dortmund, now part of the TU Dortmund University. I am married and my daughter and son are studying now. I live in the wonderful and green city of Dortmund, enjoying the Mediterranean flair in the summer. Excitement is guaranteed by Borussia Dortmund, having season tickets, and competing in the Champions League with teams from all over Europe (with this closing the loop ☺).

You can read more partner profiles here.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.